i am here

I would like to be the one
To kiss the twilight off your hand
That has held nothing but a cloth
Of silk, of satin, or of both;
And has had nothing else to do
But kiss the sorrow and the rue,
And stem the flow of all your fears,
And fend the deluge of your tears.

I would like to be the man
To claim that yes, I understand
The veil that clouds your eyes with night,
And paints with sadness all your sight,
As if the colors all have ceased
To touch and light both bird, and beast,
And tree, and flower, for I know
The hurt and pain you would not show.

I would like to be the he
To calm the tremblings of this she;
To open your eyes, and heart, and mind,
To make you feeling and unblind;
I want to share this world with you,
To see you smile, and laugh, and, too,
I’d like to be the one to prove —
You need not cry because of love.

2 thoughts on “i am here

Leave a Reply

