sofia

 

i write tonight the strongest strain

my soul can bear to write for you;

i sing tonight with all my voice

the sweetest song I can construe:

i loved you, oh forgive me, but i loved you!

 

i gazed upon a shard from heaven

that morn when first my eyes beheld your smile;

and in that instant I was given

this sweetest testament, this anthem without guile:

i loved you, ah forgive me, but i loved you!

 

you are the dearest of all treasures sought,

you are the strength of galahad the pure;

you are polaris, capturer of thought,

and ever shall this lullaby endure:

i loved you, please forgive me, but i loved you!

 

tonight, moonwitnessed, i declare to you:

i sought this not, but i do not regret

this quest for wisdom, for sofia – for athene!

though i be left awash in tears of loss…

i love you, ah forever shall i love you!

2 thoughts on “sofia

Leave a Reply

