just for kicks

 

you see, we have not talked

for quite a span of time,

and your voice is drowned,

melting in the mixture of sounds

that surround me,

though unforgotten.

 

I miss the longish conversations

that we had,

time sweetly shared

between the two of us,

moments I wished would never end,

honestly speaking.

 

they say that absence

makes the heart grow fonder,

but I do not know for sure…

for how can a fire keep others warm

unless it should be fueled?

 

I want you here,

just like old times, you know,

just to see you, talk,

laugh at each other’s shallow jokes

or simply enjoy

each other’s silent company,

 

because you see,

and pardon please,

I want bear hugs,

not cold shoulders,

around me.

 

just for kicks.

2 thoughts on “just for kicks

Leave a Reply

