sometimes you bleed like pink petals

Sometimes you bleed like pink petals,
Like petals that fall at the onset of rain,
Shaken with the trembling wind,
Shivering with the raindrops,
And how cold your tears how unsalty how unyou…
I come forward but you fend me off,
I come forward but you send me away,
How roselike your silent thorns that prick my fingers,
How cold the rivulets of red you cause to flow,
And symbols upon symbols crash through my head
As the coppery scent overwhelms me,
And the lines on my palm become a crimson map…
We stand apart in an unfathomed distance…

Standing an armslength from me,
You try to walk away but I keep in step,
I seek to complement your oblivious disregard of my presence
With my most devoted attention of you…

I wish I knew how to approach your ivory tower,
How to chase away the invisible cobwebs that surround you,
But no, you spring in revulsion against my extended arms,
You see my hands like invasive serpents: evil, clawed,
And I cringe at the sight of your fear of my touch…

But like the petals of pink spiraling downwards in their fall,
Still you hold me with invisible cords
That steel my resolve and make me return
To kneel once more in supplication,
A knight errant before his holy grail…

Even if you shred me to a thousand petals,
Still would I gladly accept the fate,
For I know that the rain shall vindicate me,
And someday you shall realize
That this paladin had been nothing else but pure before thee.

—–

this is a reposting of a poem. i was thinking about it again lately and about the one who inspired me to write this. when i wrote this she would not talk to me or even acknowledge my presence. now we talk like things never became odd between us… go figure.

One thought on “sometimes you bleed like pink petals

  1. that was one BEAUTIFUL soul stirring, emotionally evocative poem to read..
    i especially love that opener ‘sometimes you bleed like pink petals’…what a unique expression…such rawness and depth of emotions…that stimulates the reader’s mind
    poetry in motion
    that stays with you long after youre gone..
    thank for sharing it..
    ive got an exhaustive poetry collection at home and that poem should sit amongst the greatest of them all..

Leave a Reply

