the pulpit

we sit before this avenue of eternity,
eagerly waiting
for the whispers of salvation,
the feast that angels bring
for us today.

the outside noise grows dim,
the world shut out,
and in the solitude,
the dews of the heavens distil
upon our parched and thirsty souls.

upon this altar we bring
wounds and aches in want of balm,
and humbly we supplicate,
we listen,
and are soothed…

and having worshipped, the final amen
is pronounced,
and we rise, filled and healed.

-sep 2007, written one sunday after services, or maybe during…

3 thoughts on “the pulpit

  1. Hello, my friend. Imagine my delight to find you still writing.. the best that there is.. still heartfelt, still with longing.. I thought you had gone away, so I’m glad to know you’re here again. I also really love your new blog theme. It’s one I use for one of my blogs.

    I got a real feeling of peace while reading this, guerdon, and especially liked the sound of these lines,

    “and in the solitude,
    the dews of the heavens distil
    upon our parched and thirsty souls.”

    ..the dews of the heavens distill.. just lovely..πŸ™‚

    I’ve been away from much blogging myself, due to a Cloud-of-Doom settled over my head for months. I’m getting back into it again, so expect to see more of me.. [fingers crossed.]

  2. thanks janet! it’s been some time since we heard from each other.. i’m glad to be back blogging…πŸ™‚

    same as you, i was under a great cloud the past year, but i hope to break out of it soon…πŸ™‚ let’s have a happy new year..πŸ™‚

    and thanks for the comment as well, kyogakura…πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

